I just finished reading “Stop Throwing Money Away – Turn Clutter to Cash, Trash to Treasure-and Save the Planet While You’re at it!” by Jamie Novak.  Since I’m always on the lookout for ideas to cut clutter and save some money, I was very excited about her concept of “shopping at home.”   Shopping at home means that before you buy something, you search around your home to see if a) you already have it (and maybe  you can’t find it because of all the clutter!); or b) you reuse something you already have to serve the same purpose.  She even suggests shopping in your recycling bin to reuse containers.  I love it!

I put some of her concepts to work and, in 18 minutes intervals as she suggests, made the following clutter-busting, shop -at-home improvements:

1. cut the clutter in my wallet  by making a receipt box (her suggestion) out of a cardboard box from the recycling bin

2. reused an old round lotion container to hold hairclips in my daughters’ bathroom

3.  put the “keeper” school papers in a large ziplock bag that was used for hauling homework back and forth during school last year (which I found in a forgotten bag of school papers)

4. made brown sugar!

I already feel so much more organized and am so happy I skipped a trip to the store!  Thank you Jamie Novak!